Why the Greatest Work of Your Life Will Require A Compass, Not a Map | The Creativity Post

The piece is on finding your way through life; different from the norm. It challenges me in ways I struggle to put into words. I am ready for a change but I don’t have a direction. And I feel stuck.

This is a normal response and an important step in the creative process but it is a frustrating time for me.

In any case, read this, it’s a little longer than normal; think deeply, maybe you need a compass.

When thinking on an image to use I thought of Outward Bound, I attended as a 24 year old shortly before I resigned from my position as a technician and travelled to study toward my postgraduate science degrees. I felt stuck then too.

If we use a map for long enough, we lose sight of the fact the entire journey was based on a plan someone else had for us. We stop questioning it at all. It’s safe, it’s secure, it’s easy, and guaranteed to get us where we’re going.

Source: Why the Greatest Work of Your Life Will Require A Compass, Not a Map | The Creativity Post

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in creativity, Curiosity, education and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

