Silence and powerlessness go hand in hand – women’s voices must be heard | Rebecca Solnit | Opinion | The Guardian

I was not aware, until a student questioned me, that I did not notice the footprint of power.

When I began exploring around power, one of the Wikipedia entries made the point that silence is often a consequence of the misuse of power. Powerful people are heard and suppressed people are silenced. I understood that, history is written by the victors but had not connected that to my current life.

In this essay Rebecca Solnit explores this point.

This is another essay from her book, “The Mother of all Silences’, which I heartily recommend.

In this Being unable to tell your story is a living death. The right to speak is a form of wealth that is being redistributed. No wonder powerful men are furious

Source: Silence and powerlessness go hand in hand – women’s voices must be heard | Rebecca Solnit | Opinion | The Guardian

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Curiosity, healthy, leadership and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

