New Year

A New Year. It is interesting, when I look over the last few years I stop writing these notes and thoughts in the second half of the year. The commitment and energy going to students overwhelms the commitment and energy to speak here.  This year I choose to use more energy here.

The photograph is my present for myself. It is a radiometer. I remember, the year of the first moon landings I was nine and in love with the Apollo programme. My teacher had one of these; I was absolutely fascinated! So much that I dropped my schools radiometer out the window. My teacher did not have the heart to tell me off.

This last few months I hunted this down and ordered one for myself.  My daughter is 10/10 embarrassed by this.  Such a “nerd”.   (A Crookes radiometer: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crookes_radiometer).  This is an important totem of my values, which I have been discouraged to speak clearly about pretty much all my life.

This year I will speak more to beauty and sustainability. What would you like to say this year?

Radiometer

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Art, Science and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

