Into the Woods: John York

I have just finished reading,”Into the woods” by John York. This work explores storytelling. Not just character and narrative but additionally why stories resonate so strongly with us. My particular interest comes from my interest in engaging stories of sustainability, science and creativity.

John frames the story the way I frame an essay, as an exploration of the world; with an introduction, exploration and conclusion. Clearly I am simplifying although I think there is much to gain reading this book. In my understanding of his view, any creative work follows the same narrative shape, be it: a thesis, a scientific paper, a poem, novel, play or film.

Certainly I agree that stories are fundamental to our humanity and that we love a happy ending. He suggests that stories model and encourage growth, and suggests that the happy ending is a reassurance that good will prevail and that the heroine/hero will return whole and ready to re-join the community.

I enjoyed the book, and recommend it; especially as we seek to become clearer story tellers.

Cover

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Art, creativity, Science and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

