On Silence

It has been too long. Too much work, little support, low energy. The poet is empty and silent. This is a worry. What is up?

Recently my wonderings have me questioning  the way power – silences. How, we become silent by: fear, overwork, tiredness, life; the need for privacy and so-forth, in response to the powerful voices that dominate public life. The dream is lost and silence descends.  This is an old challenge for me and when, as a result of a student’s comment,  I began reading about power, powerful people silence qestioners by these means.   These are new thoughts for me; but not new for some.

My current reading includes Rebecca Solnit’s essay, “Men Explain things to me”, followed by “The longest war”.  (http://www.amazon.com/Men-Explain-Things-Rebecca-Solnit/dp/1608463869).  These essays explore the way men silence women.  My thought is that those in power use these techniques to silence many of us.  Particulary if we question dominant ways of thinking.

A challenging book for me because I am a man and thus called to question myself. The thing is, as a sustainability advocate and as an artist I am in the realm of the odd, those to be, ignored and marginalized; with those to be silenced.

Speaking is a challenge.  As an advocate of beauty and sustainability, I will keep my voice and encourage others to find their voices too.

Happy new year.

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Art, Beautiful, community, creativity, Science and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

