About 20 years ago I joined Toastmaster, the international speaking and leadership training organization.  Toastmasters was an important part of my life, that is how I met  my wife; in a library as she was researching for her second Toastmaster’s speech.  What is more Toastmasters taught me the skills I needed when my career path moved from back-room research to front of the lecture room teaching.

So the last few months have been curious.  I was asked to begin a speaking club.  Consequently I have rejoined Toastmasters and I am looking to sponsor a new club at my workplace.  The programme and people are wonderful and  I enjoy the company of other Toastmasters.

The link to sustainability and to beauty is this…  I will practice telling my stories of  opportunities and beauty in sustainability.  It is important to realize; a learning club such as Toastmasters is a democratic cooperative.  We need more of these.  And learning activities are exactly the kind of non-consumptive well-being enhancing activities we well need to counterbalance the lie that we need “stuff” for happiness.

I invite the reader to attend a local Toastmaster club.   You will be most welcome.

Go to  http://www.toastmasters.com  and find your local club.

 

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
Link | This entry was posted in Beautiful, community, creativity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

