Repairing and paying attention

There are two thoughts I have been considering these last weeks:

My bicycle has been unreliable most of this year. The chain slipping off the derailluer and leaving me without my favourite transport. It’s a 35 year old companion of mine; a familiar, reliable old friend. The shop and I had discussed new bicycles but I am so familiar with  this bike, and I object to the waste. I talked to the most experienced cycle mechanic. What, was the problem with repairing the old one?   He said that the problem wasn’t replacing the derailluer but replacing the cluster.  The thing is the cluster was new three years ago.   I made the decision and asked them to fit a new one.   So now I have a new derailluer and the bike runs like new. A beautiful and sustainable solution.

The second thought, was about the internet; I have found a day without computers is a great way to make progress on my personal projects, to bike and create, to spend time with my family.   I find the break from screens a mindfulness activity. Refreshing. And I read books and study art.  It’s about paying attention to where we are physically.

So what can we repair?  How can we relax and build mindfulness into our lives?

 

New derailluer

New derailluer

 

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Beautiful, community, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

