Beauty

The first time I felt beauty deeply in my heart; I was standing still, my senses open: the touch of a chill autumn air on my cheek, my body hot from walking, damp booted feet below me, listening to the bubble of a tiny stream, open to the air and the sky and the forest of the Taranaki National Park. I was warm, still and open. My soul sang.

Since then I have realized these experiences of contact and awareness are central to who I am. I have also learned how to find this place again. The trick is a to be still.  To still the mind of the constant, maddening stream of words and to open the senses leading to  a heightened sensual awareness.  I find this when I become mindfully still: still in nature, listening to the wind, open to the sky and weather in daylight, the stars and the universe in the evening; still contemplating a photograph, a drawing – any artwork; still making love, hugging a loved one, a friend, a child; still in mindful exercise, meditation.  Still.   The list is long.

My thought is that this connection: to people, to place and the universe is an important part of my relationship with others and nature, giving me  a profound connection to beauty (and sustainability).

Please nurture this. The exercise below is from “Creativity in Business” a book by Michael Ray and Rochelle Myers. I find Minor White’s exercise helpful and practice regularly. I think you will to.

White

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Art, creativity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

