Conversation with a Poet.

Conversation with Joe, a Poet.

Yesterday I asked Joe, a friend who is a poet, if she wanted her son as a poet. Her answer was no; the whole angst and bleakness of the archetypal poets life, speaks against it. I agreed to the extent that I would not wish my son as a scientist. Both ways of life suffer the whole lack of support; lack of patrons, for both arts and sciences speaks against the idea.

But this morning I reconsidered. I do want my son and my daughter to experience the sharp intake of life when confronted with intense beauty: the indigo sky crisp with snow winter, the sharp catch of clean mountain air, the smile of a child, the curve of a lover’s breast, a bright yellow crystalline precipitate, the pleasure of creation… I want that for my children. That experience makes us human.

One place I have heard this view expanded is this wonderful documentary. I recommend it to you. (Quote)

“Beauty Will Save the World
In the gulag, Alexander Solzhenitsyn would compose speeches expressing the cruelty he suffered. However in 1970, upon receiving the Nobel Prize he simply said: “Beauty Will Save the World!” CBC producer Frank Faulk explores this provocative statement”.

http://www.cbc.ca/ideas/episodes/2010/06/10/beauty-will-save-the-world/

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Art, Beautiful, creativity, Science and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

