The Official Manawatu Flash Mob Video – Let It Be – YouTube

Homo sapiens has been successful because we cooperate, and because we compete; that has resulted in an extraordinary acceleration of cultural evolution.  I would like to repeat, we are successful because we cooperate.  The story that we have to compete to the detriment of anything else is strong but false.

This was brought home to me when I taught this idea in an environmental science class I teach.  Music is one area where cooperation is central to success.

When I first found this, my family was pretty non-musical.  Within a week of showing this video to my wife and daughter, we had two ukuleles.  Now, about a year later, we have added two ukuleles, a banjo, a guitar, two recorders, two tin whistles, a mandolin and a fife to our collection.  We have joined a folk club and are having a great deal of fun.  My wife has also blown the dust off her fiddle.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Art, Beautiful and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Official Manawatu Flash Mob Video – Let It Be – YouTube

  1. snagglewordz says:

    I love this flashmob. It sounds like your family is now a band in itself!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Ukulele Flash Mob Invades Beer Festival in California | UkeView

  3. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the issue is one thing that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I am very completely satisfied that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for something regarding this.

    Like

  4. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your website in internet explorer, may test this? IE still is the marketplace chief and a good part of other folks will leave out your fantastic writing due to this problem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

