Striving To Be More Than A Bit Player. Part 2 of 3 « Sexuality & Love in the Arts

This blog from Sexuality and Love in the arts is a thoughtful response to a piece in the New York times, where the journalist/editor makes the point, correctly, that we cannot all be the center of our world and that we cannot influence our world to any great degree.

Striving To Be More Than A Bit Player. Part 2 of 3 « Sexuality & Love in the Arts.

In my view the view expressed in the New Your Times  is limiting and dangerous:

  1. First, as the writer of Sexuality and Love in the arts states, “I did not like the tone of the piece because I’m content with people trying to become the next Copernicus, Shakespeare, Steve Jobs, or Mark Zuckerberg.  I like it when people don’t want to simply play a minor role on the world’s stage.  It’s one thing to understand you are likely not the center of anyone’s universe.  It’s another thing to not even try to make your role a leading one on your small stage or the world’s larger stages”.  My view is creative people have to create; that is what we do.
  2. My second thought is this, as expressed in a D. H. Lawrance poem I love (Classes),  “There are two classes of men:
    those that look into the eyes of the gods, and these are few, and those that look into the eyes of the few other men to see the gleam of the gods there”.  My point is this, maybe each of us cannot be a god; however, when I honestly respond to the gods  I feel the strength and confidence of the gods reflected through me.  Positive energy compounds!

Yes, I am an individual and my impact will be small; and I am a creative; that is enough. I have to create and do what I can to make a difference.

In Lawrence’s metaphor  :   Let reflected light shine from the gods;  the Apple “Think Different” advertisement.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Art, Science, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

