My Garden:

This messy looking garden is in good shape.  It is early spring here in New Zealand, too early to plant; however, the mustard green manure was going to seed, so I dug it into the soil.  The mustard was 60cm high (maybe 20 inches), soft  green with pale yellow flowers.  I planted the mustard as a green manure, it is an old gardener trick, from before modern fertilizers.  We forget that the growth is as deep below as it is high above.  I was amazed, pleased; the soil was dark, friable and well structured.  Exactly the result I was looking for.

My wife asked how come I knew about green manures.  The reply, Mr Coleman (Gorilla was his nickname) taught me in his agriculture class – maybe 35 years ago.  He is dead now, died of cancer after a long illness and an even longer period teaching.  Thank you  Mr Coleman.  I appreciate that teachers plant seeds that grow.

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

