When two tribes meet: collaborations between artists and scientists | Art and design | The Guardian


This was one of the first articles I wrote into.  It is the start of me finding my voice, as it were.  As a scientist and an artist I find the whole two cultures argument boring and unproductive.  I have re-posted the comment below with the link to the original piece.   I would add now; a comment on, Nabokov author, writer of Lolita and world class butterfly expert.

My original comment was:  MauriceJ

22 August 2011 7:27AM

There is a good body of research that suggests that the fundamental creative urge and key skills of (pre-verbal) thinking are the same regardless of the mode of expression: artistic or scientific. Check out the published works of Michele and Robert Root-Bernstein as examples.

Three anecdotes: A Nobel prize winning chemist (actually I know of two) who draw the figure in their spare time. The life drawing group I attend; half the group science, engineering or medical professionals, An emeritus professor of biology I know who taught his students to draw; essential skill.

Compliments on encouraging cross-over thinking.

When two tribes meet: collaborations between artists and scientists | Art and design | The Guardian.

About sustainabilityandbeauty

My passion is telling the stories of possibility, seeking a sustainable and beautiful future. My training is in science, chemistry, environmental science and teaching.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

